Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Channels

Lucidum organizes dashboards with Channels. Channels not only organize dashboards but also allow role-based access.

What is a Channel?

To view the initial Dashboards page, click on the Dashboards icon in the left pane.

The Dashboards page organizes dashboards by Channels. Channels are groups that allow:

  • Each user to manage personal dashboards

  • Teams to share dashboards

  • Lucidum to publish dashboards for all users.

When you click on a channel name, the main pane displays information about the dashboard(s) in that channel. The icons in the upper right of each channel allow you to display each dashboard in a tile or in a list.

For each dashboard, the main pane displays:

  • Created by. The user name of the creator.

  • icon to pin the dashboard (all users)

  • icon to edit the settings for dashboard (creator or admin users only)

  • icon to edit the dashboard contents (creator or admin users only)

  • icon to delete the dashboard (creator or admin users only)

  • icon to forward the forward the dashboard to another user (creator or admin users only)

  • icon to to copy the dashboard (all users)

Channels have role-based permissions for administrators, channel managers, and users.

Lucidum Channels

Lucidum includes pre-built dashboards, called Value-Oriented Dashboards or VODs.

Value-Oriented Dashboards display common use cases, such as asset inventory, risk overview, endpoint management, and more.

VODs are organized in the Lucidum Channels. For example, under Lucidum Channels, you should see channels for:

  • Cloud

  • Endpoint Security

  • Identity

  • Inventory

  • Security & IT Ops

  • Threat Intelligence

Users, even administrators, cannot add or remove dashboards from the Lucidum Channel.

My Channels

My Channels allows you to create channels to organize dashboards you have created and dashboards that have been shared with you. You can add and remove dashboards from the channels under My Channels.

Creating a Channel in My Channels

To create a new channel in My Channels

  1. Go to Dashboards.

  2. In My Channels, click the plus-sign at the top.

  3. The Create My Channel modal page appears.

  4. In the Create My Channel modal page, enter the name of the channel and click the Create button.

Team Channels

In Team Channels, each channel has a list of users who have read-write privileges and user who have read-only privileges. Users who have neither read-write privileges nor read-only privileges cannot view the contents of the channel.

Creating a Channel in Team Channels

To create a new channel in My Channels

  1. Go to Dashboards.

  2. In Team Channels, click the plus-sign at the top.

  3. The Create Team Channel modal page appears.

  4. In the Create Team Channel modal page, enter:

    • Channel Name. Name of the new channel.

    • Channel Managers. Select one or more users from the dropdown list.

    • Channel Members. Select one or more users from the dropdown list.

  5. Click the Create button.

Adding a Dashboard to a Channel

To add a new dashboard to a channel:

  1. Go to Dashboards.

  2. Find the channel where you want to add a dashboard.

  3. Click the plus-sign next to the channel.

  4. The Add Dashboard modal appears.

  5. In the Add Dashboard modal page, enter:

    • Dashboard Name. Name of the new dashboard.

    • Description. Description of the new dashboard.

  6. Click the Create button.

Editing a Channel

If you have read and write permissions in a channel, you can edit:

  • My Channels. Name of the channel.

  • Team Channels: the name of the channel, add or delete channel members, and change permissions for each channel member.

  • Lucidum Channels. Cannot be edited.

To edit a channel:

  1. Go to Dashboards.

  2. Find the channel you want to edit and click its pencil icon.

  3. In the Edit Channel modal, you can edit one or more fields.

  4. Click the Update button to save your changes.

Deleting a Channel

Deleting a channel is like deleting a directory. When you delete a channel, you also delete all the dashboards in that folder.

If you have read and write permissions in a channel, you can delete:

  • My Channels

  • Team Channels

To delete a channel and all its dashboards:

  1. Go to Dashboards.

  2. Find the channel you want to edit and click its pencil icon.

  3. Click the Delete icon.

  4. When prompted, confirm the deletion.

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.